Loot from my not so local library

Library LootI had a little trip to a Plymstock Library today, its one of my favourite libraries in the city of Plymouth with a lovely cafe and sofa’s all over the place. It also stocks a very good selection of books.  I got a grand total of 6 books out today, which is bigger than my usual library haul, this will keep me reading for a few weeks.

 

This is my first post for the meme Library Loot hosted over at Silly Little Mischief this week (it can also be found at The Captive Reader)

 

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

As you may have noticed, Neil Gaiman is one of my favourite authors and when writing the previous post about book covers I discovered this one and promptly ordered it from the library.  The blurb on the back tells us:
(this) “is a novel of childhood and memory.  Its a story of magic, about the power of stories and how we face the darkness inside each one of us.  It’s about fear and love, and death, and families.  But, fundamentally, I hope, at heart, its a novel about survival” Neil Gaiman

City of Thieves by David Benioff

The opening sentence of: “My grandfather, the knife fighter, killed two Germans before he was eighteen.” and the goodreads rating of  over 4-stars was what swayed me in taking this book home.

 

 

Blue Dog by Louis de Bernières

From the author of Captain Corelli’s Mandolin this appears to be a prequel to the book Red Dog which he published in 2001 and has been turned into a movie.

 

 

 

The Invoice by Jonas Karlsson

This appears to be a funny book that was originally published in Swedish a few years ago and has been recently translated into English.    First impressions this is about a guy who works in a video shop who is sent strange invoice for huge amount of money.

 

 

Notes on a Scandal by Zoë Heller

This looks to be fairly light reading about a woman who discovers that her friend and fellow teacher is having an affair with one of her pupils and the ensuing scandal.   I notice that this has been also adapted into a movie.

 

And Finally

The Running Man by Stephen King

(originally writing as Richard Bachman)

Running Man- King

After reviewing On Writing, I realised that I have never actually read any of Stephen King’s Novels, mainly because I am easily scared.   Time to rectify that.   And of course this has also is classic Arnie movie adapted from the book, although I hear that this story is much deeper.

 

Well that’s the lot, it will take a few weeks for me to digest all of those and reviews will follow in good time.

6 thoughts on “Loot from my not so local library

Add yours

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

