Summer Reads

Books are heavy, and therefore not as practical to take on holiday as an E-reader.  I have recently discovered netgalley and edelweiss and also due to having to play around with  adobe digital editions I have discovered that I can get books that I have borrowed from the library onto my old rooted Nook simple touch, which I didn’t realise I could do.

This is a post for the Summer Reads Freebie prompt for the fabulous top ten Tuesday meme over at the broke and the bookish, and I have been wracking my brains for weeks and as I only figured this on Monday, just in time.

I have put this in probably order of reading.  Firstly the ones that I have actually got onto my Nook, and after that the ones that I have requested and  am really hoping are approved.

1 Title:  The Heirs: A NovelThe Heirs

Author: Susan Rieger

Source:  Blogging For Books  and Edelweiss

Publication Date: 23 May 2017 in the US those of us in the UK and elsewhere will have to wait longer

Why I chose this book:  As this is my first time using blogging for books and  as I am a new book blogger I had a limited choice.  Also the others on offer looked very religious so not my thing.

This book appears to take the multiple viewpoints of a large and prosperous Manhattan family who after the death of the patriarch have an unknown woman make a claim on the estate claiming that he fathered two of her children.   With each successive chapters more of the family’s secrets are revealed.  Sound good.

The other advance readers on goodreads have give it a total of 3.81 stars (from 90 people) with most loving it but some of the readers where put off by the very “waspy” characters and the shifting viewpoints.  I myself am looking forward to starting it.

2 Title: The Beekeeper The beekeeper

Author: Stewart Giles

Source: Netgalley

Publication Date: 22nd May 2017

Why I chose this book: This book is set in Cornwall which is where I have close family connection to so I was immediately attracted.

It appears to be a murder mystery with lots of twists and turns in the plot

Almost everybody who has reviewed it on goodreads and have given a rating  has enjoyed it overall they have given a rating of 4.16 stars (from 25 people) and first impressions is that it is very well written.   Also the author has included his dark sense of humor which is always a bonus.

 

3 Title: Little Computer People little computer people

Author:  Galen Surlak-Ramsey

Source: Netgalley

Publication Date: 10 Feb 2017

Why I chose this book: I do like books about AI’s and this seems to fit that criteria.  the cover and title appealed to me too.  On reading the blurb and the first chapter this appears to be a story about a man with a god complex who creates the first sentient AI who he calls Pi and regards as his daughter.  Pi on the other hand thinks his creator is a hostile program and sets out to erase him.   Not sure how this is all going to pan out but it will be interesting finding out.

On the whole the 13 folks on goodreads to have read it like it (4.46 stars) with none of them posting a negative review but it is a very small sample.

4 Title: The Copenhagen Affair  copenhagan affair.png

Author: Amulya Malladi

Source: Netgalley

Publication Date:  26 Sep 2017

Why I chose this book: Whilst writing this my request for a copy has been approved.   Why I chose this book:   I am fickle and I really liked the cover.  Well that’s what made me look further but it seems as if it will be fairly light reading exploring a city I haven’t been to, but would love to sometime.  Woman’s fiction is not a subject I normally go for but I will make an exception this time, if I get my request accepted that is.   From the blurb it is about a ethnic Indian’s woman who moves from America  to Copenhagen, Denmark with her husband who is having a midlife crisis where she sticks out like a sore thumb.  This book has been very warmly received on goodreads with the 5 people who have read it giving it a 4.8 star rating.  The author from her bio is also a dark skinned Indian who has lived in Copenhagen but now lives in LA, so she is writing what she knows.

Requested Review Copies:

The following books I have requested and really hope I will get a chance to read, so if any of the publishers read this,  please approve them.  Grovel over.   All information is from other peoples reviews on goodreads and the blurbs supplied by the publishers.

5 Title: The Bedlam StacksThe Bedlam Stacks

Author:  Natasha Pulley

Source: Netgalley

Publication Date:  13 Jul 2017

Why I chose this book:   The cover was what drew me to this book initially but what made me want to read it is that it is a novel set in Peru in the 1850’s.   At this time travel was difficult and dangerous and full of adventure.  This is about the search for a source of quinine by recovering cuttings from the quinine rich plant cinchona and having to travel into hostile territory to do it.  Sounds fabulous.

This appears to be set in the world of her previous book which was very well received , The watchmaker of Filigree Street.  So far the people who have reviewed this book on goodreads thought it was very good and have given a rating of 4.1 stars.

6 Title: The Cottingley Secret: A Novel the cottingley secret

Author: Hazel Gaynor

Source: Edelweiss

Publication Date: 01 August 2017

Why I chose this book:   Because if done well, magical realism is well, magical.  Two young girls from Yorkshire convince the world that they have photographed faeries in the bottom of their garden.

The author appears to be well published and all seem to have been well received and I am really hoping this one is approved.

 

7 Title: The Child FinderThe Child Finder

Author: Rene Denfeld

Source: Edelweiss

Publication Date: 05 September 2017

Why I chose this book:    Three years ago a five year old girl went missing in the forest whilst the family where choosing a Christmas tree. Three years later she is still missing and the family hire a private investigator who has a talent for finding missing kids.  This PI Naomi is known as the “child finder” to the police and is the family’s last hope.

I really hope that they approve my request for this one especially, even the cover looks chilling, and I really hope it lives up to my expectations.  Goodreads have rated it 4.34 stars.

8 Title: One Station Away One Station Away

Author: Olaf Olafsson

Source: Edelweiss

Publication Date: 05 December 2017

Why I chose this book:The information from the publisher tells us:

an intimate yet sweeping story of a New York neurologist and the three women who change his life

A pianist, a dancer and a mysteriously comatose patient and the New York neurologist who ties them all together somehow.   It could be interesting, and I would like to find out.

The author Olaf Olafsson is from Iceland and he has written many book, most of which have been translated into English.

I haven’t got a whole load of information about this one, nobody has written a review on goodreads at time of writing but one person has given it 4 stars.

 

9 Title: The Last Mrs. Parrish The last mrs parrish

Author: Liv Constantine

Source: Edelweiss

Publication Date: 17 October 2017

Why I chose this book: This looks to be an interesting thriller about a manipulative woman who enters herself into the lives of a “golden couple” to get what she wants.   Could be interesting

 

 

10 Title: A kind of Freedom  Some kind of freedom

Author: Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

Source: Edelweiss

Publication Date: 15 August 2017

Why I chose this book:   Firstly the cover is very pretty and the setting seems interesting.  In New Orleans during the height of WW2 a Creole woman occupying the upper echelons of black society and she falls for a man who would not be accepted as her husband and she has to choose between him and the lifestyle she has enjoyed.  It could be great.

 

I have got my work cut out for me and combined with the books I got from my local library last week, I cant imagine I will need any more reading material for a while.

Summer Reads

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Summer Reads

Add yours

  1. Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry I haven’t been following! Your posts didn’t show up in my Reader!

    Haha, I haven’t heard of any of these books. 😛 Are these adult books? One Station sounds super interesting though, since I’m both a dancer AND a pianist. 🙂 Great post!

    Like

  2. I just requested Bedlam Stacks on NetGalley the other day, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I get a copy! It really looks like it will be a great read! I hope that you enjoy it 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

