Weekly Update 21st to 27th May

This is an eventful week, well the end of it anyway, I am off on holiday with my little family to go and visit my not-husband’s home city, Tallinn Estonia.   I have never been, although his mum and younger sister came and visited us a few years ago but we haven’t reciprocated yet, until now.  This will be the first time that our 8 year old has flown, and she is a little apprehensive.

Books Finished This week.

Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson I have been reading this book to my eight year old daughter, a chapter at bedtime for a while now.  This is an amazing tale of Maia, a young orphan who journeys to stay with relatives in a backwater rubber plantation in Basil set in 1910 and doesn’t get the welcome she envisaged.

Currently Reading

Oryx and Crake

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

A modern classic and an amazing piece of what Margaret Atwood calls speculative fiction.  Set after a plague a the only man alive in a world totally unlike the one he grew up.  Where she gets all the ideas I have no idea.

A long way to a small angry planet by Becky Chambersthe-long-way-to-a-small-angry-planet-cover This woman is my new favourite si-fi writer, it is light and funny without being totally frivolous.  Even if you don’t like si-fi you may well like this.

Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith by Shaun Hume This book was sent to me by the author for an honest review, but that will take me a while as this is the bedtime book for my daughter at the moment.  Ewan Pendle is a troubled boy, being bounced around the foster care system, he doesn’t know why except for the fact that he can see monsters and when he tells people this they at best laugh at him, at worse…

Moby DickMoby Dick by Herman Melville – I have been reading this book for years, its huge infodumps and very archaic text is making this a very heavy read, I think I might have to do a bit of skim reading to get to some action or give up altogether

Far from the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy far from the madding crowd I have been listening to this in e-audiobook form for a few weeks now mainly when driving.  I borrowed it from my local library using overdrive app on my phone.  Bathsheba is such a silly girl and should forget the irresponsible soldier and go for Gabriel Oak.  Sigh.

This week on the blog

Linking ToI am linking this to the Sunday Post over at the Caffeinated Book Reviewer

WeeklyUpdate

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Weekly Update 21st to 27th May

Add yours

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

