May Update

Well my blog  a month old as my first post was right at the end of April.   Also I have just got back from a month in Estonia visiting my OH’s family so to introduce our 8 year old daughter to his great grandmother (age 90).  The highlight of the week was the open air museum here are a couple of shots that put on instagram.

Love these flower motifs

A post shared by Charlotte Burt (@nualacharlie) on

Estonian windmill

A post shared by Charlotte Burt (@nualacharlie) on

Books Read This Month(1)

I have done quite a lot of reading this month 15 books in total which is a bit of a record for me.

  1. A Feast of Crows  by George RR Martin probably my least favourite of the Game of thrones series
  2. Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson a fabulous bedtime story for my 8 year old dauther, one of my favourites.
  3. Autumn by Ali Smith a wonderfully poetic tale of the twilight of a man’s days.
  4. Escape from Camp 14 by Blaine Harden an amazing account from the only person to have been born in a North Korean Gulag to escape. Read my Review
  5. Nothing to Envy, Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbera Demick covering many different accounts of people who have since defected to South Korea and are able to tell their tale, a fascinating read.
  6. Notes on a Scandal (what was she thinking) by Zoe Heller – a compellingly addictive read about a middle aged teachers fling with a teenage boy.
  7. The Heirs by Susan Rieger an interesting story of a large WASP family in New York, my first ARC through blogging for books.
  8. The Invoice by Jonas Karlsson. Read my Review
  9. Blue Dog by Louis De Bernieres a cute story of a boy and his dog in the Australian outback
  10. A closed a common orbit by Becky Chambers an amazing tale from my now new favourite Si-Fi authors.
  11. City of Thieves by David Benioff an exciting page turner set in world war two Russia.  Read my Review
  12. Elza’s Kitchen by Marc Fitten – a charming story of a Hungarian woman having something of a midlife crisis.  Read my Review
  13. The Running man by Stephen King (writing as Richard Backman) the first Stephen King novel that I have ever read. Nothing really like the movie except for a couple of names and title but a fast paced thriller and a quick read.
  14. The Ocean at the end of the Lane by Neil Gaiman is a wonderful piece of magical realism. Read my Review
  15. How to fight islamic terror from the missionary position by Tabish Khair.  Read my Review
A Feast for Crows (A Song of Ice and Fire, #4)

Journey to the River Sea     Autumn

Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea
What Was She Thinking? [Notes on a Scandal]

The Heirs

The InvoiceBlue Dog

Escape from Camp 14: One Man's Remarkable Odyssey from North Korea to Freedom in the West

Elza's Kitchen   The Ocean at the End of the Lane   How to Fight Islamist Terror from the Missionary PositionThe Running ManCity of thieves 2

 

BotB-logo
My personal fave from this month and it was a fairly difficult choice goes to A closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers.
This woman writes like a dream and it is a joy to explore the alien worlds that she aclosedacommonorbitclosedandcommonorbitdescribes.  She tackles some fairly difficult philosophical questions like who gets the right to be a person when there are clones and sentient AI’s around but it is all totally character based.
Reviews for this book and the one before (which I read after this one) A long way to a small angry planet, will follow very soon.
This month on the blog
Linking To
As always I am linking to the Sunday Post (a day late) over at the Caffinated Book Reviewer.  I am also linking to the Best of the Bunch over at a cocoon of books.  
Also I have just found the monthly wrap up over at Feed your fiction addiction.
5 thoughts on “May Update

Add yours

  1. WOW. So apparently, I was not following this blog? I was CERTAIN that I had clicked the follow button — so sorry about that! I am here now, so there’s that. XD So, Project Big Blogger, Little Blogger is coming to a close in 3 days, and as Mikaela said, I’ll have to have a post dedicated to you on my blog. So I was wondering what post you’d like to do? Perhaps a bookish guest post in which you share some tips or have a discussion — I don’t know. Or we could do a blogger interview (though I find that readers don’t find that as enjoyable as tips/discussions). It’s all up to you, my dear! Just let me know so you and I can get ready for that. 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

