Best and Worst Fathers in Literature

Fathers day is on the 18th of June so for Top Ten Tuesday we can do anything we like re fathers.  I have decided to do what I am sure is going to be the most popular option and talk about the best and worst fathers in literature.

Best Fathers

  1.  Atticus Finch – From to Kill a Mockingbird – He gives his kids enough space to be explore and get themselves into trouble but he also sets a good example in defending Tom Robinson, a black man wrongly accused of rape when defending a black man was not a popular thing for a white man to do.
  2. Cullyn of Cerrmor from the Deverry Books by Katherine Kerr –  He is one of my favorite characters from my fave fantasy series.   A mercenary soldier fathers a child by a tavern maid and when she dies takes his daughter on the long road with him out of necessity.
  3. Mrs Madrigal from the Tales of the City books by Armistead Mauplin – An elderly transsexual landlady living on Russian Hill in San Fransisco, fathers Mona whist he was still a man and admittely, he wasn’t the best of fathers whilst Mona was small but he/she tries to make up for it later on. (admittedly none of this is revealed till way into the series so sorry for the spoiler)
  4. Arther Weasley –  The obligatory Harry Potter choice, Fun, Daring and with silly obsessions.  What more would you need in a father.
  5. Hans Hubermann from The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – He is an adoptive parent but he is the perfect antidote to his wife’s brusqueness and is what every father should be.  Ohh and the book is way better than the film IMO.

BestfathersforTTT

 

Worst Fathers

  1. Mr Wormwood from Matilda by Roal Dahl – A dishonest used car salesman who thinks too much of himself and completely misses his daughter’s brilliance. What more can I say.
  2. Jack Torrance from the Shining by Stephen King – Admittedly I haven’t read the book only seen the movie but all the same.  Axe wielding psychopaths don’t make for the best parents.
  3. Craster from the Game of Thrones books by George RR Martin – He offers all the boy children to the white walkers and then marries all of his daughters and keeps on having more kids.
  4. Celie’s Pa from the Colour Purple by Alice Walker  – He got his daughter pregnant twice by the time she was 14 and then married her off to some random man. Despicable scum of a man if you ask me.
  5. Gottfried  Vanger – From the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by  – I am not going to go into details because it will be an immense spoiler but for anybody who remembers the end of this book/movies…

WorstfathersinLiterature

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Best and Worst Fathers in Literature

Add yours

  1. Nice list! Atticus and Arthur made it onto my best father list too! Glad to see I’m not the only one who added Jack Torrance to my worst father list!! Horrible!

    Like

  2. Mr Wormwood angers me so much! Who could dream of putting someone down for wanting to read! Atticus and Hans have appeared a lot this week, its unanimous, they’re the best dads! Lovely to through and through. ^.^

    Like

  3. Yes, I completely agree with all of these! 🙂 Arthur Weasley, Hans Hubermann, and Atticus Finch are all such great fathers. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous choices! ❤

    Like

  4. I’ve seen Atticus on most lists – proving that he is THE best dad ever 😀 I’ve seen the Katherine Kerr books mentioned a few times as well – sounds interesting to me, I will get a sample!

    Also, yes…. Jack freaking Torrance… scariest dad ever!
    And Game of Thrones, lots of choice there 😀 I liked that you chose Craster though, if you think about what he did.. he is worse than Tywin or Walder Frey.

    They are all horrible dads. Westeros is in need of social workers.

    Like

  5. My blog is YA, so I saw many TTTs of all YA dads. I really like the mix you have here, and I could not agree with your more: Matilda’s parents were the worst, and Celie’s Pa was a criminal. I really hated Pa. Atticus is total #DadGoals. Great list!
    Sam @ WLABB

    Like

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

