Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

It’s time for another top ten Tuesday.  This time its all about series that I haven’t started yet. That’s the problem with series, it is a huge time  commitment and there are so many other books to read out there.  Admittedly I didn’t have ten but only seven series from a range of genres.  Fantasy, si-fi, action and murder mystery all make an appearance.  Not sure when I will get round to starting them all let alone finishing them especially when many of the series are incomplete.

Assassins Apprentice

1  The Farseer Trilogy starting with Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

This classic fantasy has been on my mental TBR for decades, but I still haven’t started it.  One of these days.  The farseer trilogy is three books as you would expect but if you count all the books from the The Realm of the Elderlings there are 17 books in total.

 

Lee childJack Reacher series by Lee Child

Ok I saw the movie on Netflix and I keep on hearing good things about this series of stand alone books.  Even a guy working in one of my local charity shops recommended these books today (for US translation read thrift stores). Jack is an ex-army MP, and on retiring from the military, roams around America doing odd jobs and investigating stuff.  Another one to order from the library soon.  In total there are 22 Jack Reacher novels with an average of a little over one book a year, including this one.

name of the wind3  The Kingkiller Chronicle starting with the Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

I went as far as getting the first book of this fantasy series out of the library, but due to the tiny print and the huge pile of other books, it went back to the library with only a few pages read.  Think I should probably source and e-book or hardback of this one.  Only two books in this book out so far.

sleeping giants4 The Themis Files starting with Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

Ok have the first one of these sitting ready to be read from the library at the moment, it looks really interesting.  Huge metallic body parts appear all over the world seemingly randomly, seem to make some sort of giant statue.  They are made of a metal which is extremely rare on earth, has it come from somewhere else?  Only two books in this series so far with the second Waking Gods was published in April.

bone collector5  Lincoln Rhyme starting with The Bone Collector by Jeffery Deaver

Ok I only discovered this one whilst researching for this post but it looks like a great read. Hopefully this will fill the forensic’s hole left buy the tv series bones ending (I detested the prose of Kathy Reichs so that won’t do). There are 13 books in this series so far with the most recent The Burial Hour published this year.

cover her face6 Adam Dalgliesh series starting with Cover Her Face by P.D. James

They have made several of of PD James books into TV series shown on British TV in the 80s  but I don’t think I have ever read any, this should change soon.  Its all very British and a bit old fashioned but a wonderful crime dramas and as its over 20 years since I have seen one I won’t remember a thing.  A total of 14 books written over 46 years.

onefor the money7 Stephanie Plum series starting with One for the Money  by Janet Evanovich

I got a audio book with one of her books in this series out of the library a few years ago and although its totally trashy, I totally enjoyed it.  Stephanie has been described as a spunky combination of Nancy Drew and Dirty Harry and as she works as a bounty hunter there is plenty of scope for all sorts of heroic deeds.  Loads of fun.   22 Full length books plus 3 novellas.

Well that’s enough to be going along with, with a conservative count of 78 books I should be reading nothing else for the rest of the year.  Ok probably not.

Series I haven't started yet

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Series I’ve Been Meaning To Start But Haven’t

Add yours

  1. The Farseer trilogy is so good! I read it years ago and man does she put her characters through the ringer. 🙂

    I’ve read the first Themis book, liked it but didn’t love it, but lots of people did. And I do want the second one.

    Like

  2. I love Kathy Reichs’ books but couldn’t stand the Bones series! LOL. I like Deaver. Lincoln Rhyme is a great character and the novels are smart and compelling. The older ones are better, although I haven’t read all of the new ones yet. I’ll be interested to see what you think of Deaver.
    Happy TTT!

    Like

  3. Oh, Robin Hobb! I haven’t read any series on this list, but I have heard great things about Robin Hobb’s books and have a friend that love love love loveeeeeeeeees ALL of the books ahah – I guess this means some of these have to be on my radar 🙂
    Happy reading to you! 🙂

    Like

  4. Great list! I haven’t read all of the Stephanie Plum books yet but have loved all of the ones I have read. Like you say, they’re basically trashy but hilarious. I love to read them in the summer when I’m at the beach or on vacation. I forgot to put it on my list, but the KingKiller Chronicles is one I’ve been meaning to get to as well. Happy reading!

    Like

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

