To meme or not to meme, that is the question. {discussion}

As you may already know, I had a guest post over at Forever and Everly last Monday and one of the topics that came up was the use of Meme’s in book blogging.  There are loads of them and I am beginning to question their usefulness, so here goes with some pros and cons.  I am hoping that this can be a discussion post so let me know what you think in the comments.

I have been doing a bit of thinking about this topic and there seems to be three main types of memes, firstly Memes where you follow a often narrow prompt to create similar posts to others in the blogging world, think Top Ten Tuesday and Top 5 Wednesday etc.  This type of meme I am getting extremely weary with.

The second type is the monthly or weekly check in’s where we can tell each other about how our week/month has been and what we have read, what we are still reading and what books have been added to our TBR pile.  The Sunday Post , It’s Monday what are you reading are my fave weekly ones and there are several monthly ones, my favourite being monthly wrap up  at feed your fiction addiction but there are others.

The third type is one I haven’t participated in but some are them are insanely popular is far more specific.  For instance Waiting on Wednesday when folks link up and talk about the new releases they are excited about had 1350 bloggers linking up to it last week, that’s insane,  I am sure if I had the time to check out all of them I would find some great blogs but who has that amount of time.  There are also meme’s featuring the opening paragraphs of books etc.

The most up to date directory of book blogging memes is a Molly’s book Nook but there are alternatives and as meme’s are born and die all the time these directories get out of date fairly quickly.

Anyway here are my pro’s and cons

Pros –

  • The prompts are helpful whenever you are stuck for inspiration on what to blog about.
  • Easy way to find new blogs and interact with the community
  • Simple way to increase page-views and comments.
  • Sometimes they encourage us to think out of the box and write things we otherwise wouldn’t do.
  • With some of the meme’s I participate in weekly there is a lovely sense of community developing with the same people linking up every week (love all of you Sunday post people).

Cons –

  • Effort is put into something that is not particularly original when it could be spent writing a post that will have some longevity, or be of some use.
  • Reading loads of very similar content becomes a bit of a chore, especially when writing the post wasn’t very interesting either.
  • A lot of meme posts are really filler content with no real lasting value.

Ok well that’s my thoughts on the matter, what do you think?

 

10 thoughts on “To meme or not to meme, that is the question. {discussion}

Add yours

  1. This is a really interesting topic, Charlie! I think as a reader, memes are a little… repetitive. I get that that’s the point, but reading about the sane books over and over again in TTT posts are sort of tedious??? (Also I talk about TTT because it’s the most popular one. XD) I’ve never tried a meme before, as a blogger, but if I did, I would probably end up changing the topic juuuuust a little bit to make it more interesting.

    Like

  2. I agree, I have very mixed feelings about memes! I have been enjoying Top Ten Tuesday, but I’ve only done a few and I’ve noticed that they can get rather repetitive. I typically enjoy reading original content more, but I do also like the sense of community around meme posts.

    Like

  3. I think doing a few memes is good. I do It’s Monday every week and like that check in for myself and others. I do Top Ten Tuesday when there’s something about the topic I find interesting and that I think readers (not necessarily other bloggers) would find interesting. I try to always keep in mind that while I love the interaction with other bloggers, that’s not the main purpose of my blog.

    Like

  4. Great topic and you’re right that there are pros and cons. I link up for Top Ten Tuesday only sporadically, one because I don’t only write book related content and two because sometimes I am just not that interested in that week’s topic – creating or reading a list of something I don’t care that much about. Often, it takes a lot of time to create those lists and insert applicable links and pictures and you’re right, sometimes it’s just not worth the time spent because it’s not original content and no one cares that much.
    That said, though, there are weeks when the topic is timely and I get good ideas and actually invest some time in meeting some new bloggers and make friends. So while I definitely don’t linkup every week, it’s a good resource to have. Since you said on your other post that this might be your last link for a while, I’m glad I met you today and I’ll be following your blog to see what else you post.
    You can check me out here too http://runwright.net

    Like

  5. I think you bring up some great points about memes. I always post a Sunday Post because I list a lot of giveaways and pre-order deals and such and lots of people have told me they’re useful. Plus, it’s a nice space to give a little personal update. I like reading about people’s personal lives because then we get to know each other a little better. And, of course, I always link up to the Monthly Wrap-Up Round-Up (thanks for mentioning it!). I like monthly round-ups because I can see if there are things I’ve been missing on my friends’ blogs that catch my eye. It’s impossible for me to keep track of everyone always!
    Other than that, I really only participate in TTT when the topic catches my eye and I think it will be a fun one. I used to do it every week, but I agree that it started to feel a little forced and repetitive. I enjoy it more when I only do it occasionally.

    Like

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

