My Top Reads in the First Half of 2017

Well according to the goodreads reading challenge this year I have read 33 books this year so far, so these are my top third.

 

The Bedlam Sacks by Natasha Pulley – I really savored this book about a man trying to get cuttings for the trees that contain quinine from a remote village in Peru and finding some much more interesting things.  Its due to be published on the 13th of July and its not archived yet on Netgalley.

Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson – adorable book which I read to my daughter at bedtime for a long time.  Plucky orphan triumphs over greedy and mean relatives and sorts out a few lives into the bargain.

Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1)  by Sylvain Neuvel – The first book in an at present unfinished series about the the team dealing with buried alien robot body parts emerging all over the world.

 

 

4  The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and Closed and Common Orbit (Wayfarers #1 and 2)  by Becky Chambers – OK counting two as one is probably cheating but who cares, I loved both these books for more details you can read my review.

5 City of Thieves by David Benioff – This WW2 adventure from one of the creators of the Game of Thrones TV series, again read my review for more details.

6 Nothing to Envy: Ordinary Lives in North Korea by Barbara Demick – A wonderful glimpse into the daily lives of some North Korean lives, recounted by defectors and written by a journalist.  My review will be out tomorrow.

 

 

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King – I am not a writer, but this book was inspirational.  A must for any aspiring writer, or just a curious reader like me.  This was one of my first reviews on this blog.

Notes on a Scandal  by Zoë Heller – Dark and twisty, the most interesting unreliable narrator I have read this year.  Found it difficult to put this one down once I had got into it.

Autumn (Seasonal #1) by Ali Smith – A poetic account of an elderly man and his friend, who first met him as a child.  Also a portrait of post-vote pre-brexit Britain.  My review is here.

 

 

10  Little Computer People by Galen Surlak-Ramsey – This gets my vote for the most hilarious book I have read this year so far.  Its about a geek who creates an AI which due to a virus goes rogue and tries to kill him.  If you are in any tiny bit geeky you would love this book.

11  Killing Floor (Jack Reacher #1) by Lee Child – I had heard so much about these Jack Reacher novels, from other book blogs to patients in hospital.  Well I took their advice and it was well worth it. Fast paced and adrenaline fueled and a great read, demolished 500 page book in 2 days.

So there you have it, I couldn’t just choose 10.  This may be my last top ten Tuesday for a while, the reasons for that you can find on yesterdays post, To Meme or Not to Meme, let me know what you think.

 

 

30 thoughts on “My Top Reads in the First Half of 2017

Add yours

  1. I put On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King on my TBR a while back. It really looks like an interesting book – especially since I only recently discovered what great a writer he is. I’m looking forward to reading that book – this time without all the paranoia and insomnia following me around afterwards, haha!

    Like

      1. I have yet to read more of him, but if you don’t like horror, maybe The Green Mile is a good option! I haven’t read it myself, but the movie is awesome, so I can only assume the book is probably even better. (As is the case most of the time.)

        Like

      2. the only fiction Stephen King I have read is the running man, its totally different from the Arnie movie and a much deeper story, the ending let it down though.

        Like

      3. This was back in the first month of my book blog, and I was reading thin books in the hope of having more books to review. I didn’t bother reviewing that one though. That phase has passed now and I am onto thicker books. Also the length of the book doesn’t always correlate to reading speed

        Like

      4. That’s true! Some books are just a hassle to get through, while you can read a thicker one in barely a couple of days.
        Even though I just started my blog, I’m not focusing on reading as many books as possible. I’m still reading as I have been before. Although I have the tendency to pick out the most recent once first since those reviews are often more interesting to readers.

        Like

      5. I rarely watched television as it is. Now I’m just even more tempted to seclude myself in my armchair and read while my boyfriend is watching television. So that hasn’t changed much for me. 🙂

        Like

      6. I go through phases with tv, sometimes I am binge watching stuff on netflix but more of the time I am reading a book. Or on the internet (biggest time suck ever)

        Like

      7. It’s always been reading with me. Even though I do tend to binge watch when I finally found a series I like, but that’s also been a while. My pc and I haven’t been the closest of friends for a year, but since I started blogging, that’s changing. I’m having too much fun looking for blogging ideas and preparing blogs. Add taking pictures to that (for my blog, but also general photography), and my free time is quickly spent.

        Like

  2. If anyone’s going to give you advice on writing, it’s Stephen King. I’m actually doing my dissertation and that book would be really helpful, so thanks for reminding me to pick it up! I have Ali Smith’s Autumn on my TBR. I’ve read a couple of her books and they’re fantastic!

    Like

  3. I loved the Becky Chambers books, and can’t wait for the third one. And Sleeping Giants- I need to read the next one. Curious to see where that story goes.

    Like

  4. Notes on a Scandal looks good and I’ve had Nothing to Envy on my TBR since I first came across it. It looks fascinating. Now I need to run to NetGalley and find The Bedlam Stacks. I have no idea how I missed that one!

    Like

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

