Weekly Update July 3rd to 9th

I have been fairly lazy this week.  My daughter is still in school for another two weeks so I have been enjoying the independence I have between 8.30am to 3pm as I will have a hanger on for six weeks after that.  Not that the summer holidays aren’t fun but they seem very long sometimes.

Ohh and I have decided to use the best of my Instagram photos for the background of the featured image on the weekly updates.  This weeks is of my daughter posing in a playground.

Books Finished This week.

Three books read this week, which I am happy about, all ARC’s from Netgalley.

The Space Between Words by Michèle Phoenixcover115039-medium

This is an interesting contemporary novel with historical story within a story about a woman coping with PTSD and grief.  Intertwined in this is a discovery of a sewing box with a hidden compartment which contained the writings of a 17cenury huguenot woman.  I got this from Netgalley and it is due for publication in September.

Sunday Morning Coming Down (Frieda Klein #7) SundayMorningComingDownCover@2x by Nicci French

A body is found under the floorboards of the London home of Frieda Klein a psychotherapist.  It probably would help if I had read the previous six books in this series but this is a fast paced thriller that I thoroughly enjoyed and intend to read the rest before the final book is out this time next year.  This was another Netgalley book and it is already out in hardback and kindle but the Penguin Paperback is due out next Thursday and the review will be out on the same day.

Waking Gods (Themis Files #2) by Sylvain Neuvelwaking gods

Just finished this one on Saturday morning.  It was good, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first book until the last 100 pages.  This is probably due to the fact that it is much darker until that point.  This one I both got from the library and netgalley which is almost cheating.

Currently Reading

I have put A Kind of Freedom and Orxy and Crake on the back burner as I have loads of ARC’s that need to be read more urgently for more details see yesterdays post.

I am still reading A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles and enjoying it, the plot is pretty sedate but it is perfect bedtime reading.

The View from the Cheap Seats: Selected Non-fiction by Neil Gaiman as you would expect from a collection of previously published introductions and speeches is at times great and at times a bit dull especially if you are not familiar with the person he is talking about. I should probably skim over those parts.  I intend to have this finished by the end of the week.

Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith by Shaun Hume is still Eva’s bedtime story, and likely to be for a long time at this rate.  I am not reading to her every day, as she is often playing with other things, but the summer holidays are fast approaching, and it is bound to rain for the entire six weeks so we shall find plenty of time then.

I have started Daring to Drive: A Saudi Woman’s Awakening by Manal al-Sharif – Which is a sometimes horrifying tale of one womans fight for equality.   I am finding the history section a bit dry but it is fascinating nonetheless.

and I have also just started Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson  because the library want it back in a week as somebody else has ordered it.  Its very silly and funny, but has a deeper side as she talks about her self harm and other mental health issues.

This week on the blog

Monday – How to Encourage Reading in Childhood {Discussion}

Tuesday – Review – Little Computer People

Thursday – Review – Sleeping Giants book 1 of the Themis Files

Friday – My Favourite Children’s Picture Book – Where the Wild things Are

I have also added one page to the menu on the opening page all about the Classic Club I have joined to motivate me to read more classics and made a page to link to all the reading challenges.

I am not sure if I am going to be able to keep up with this heavy posting schedule, so don’t be too disappointed if it drops down to 3 days a week. On the other hand if you think I am posting too much let me know.
ComingupnextweekWell here’s my plan for next week.

  • Monday 10th – Discussion  – The Reasons Why the Book is ALWAYS Better Than the Movie.
  • Wednesday 12th – Review – The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley
  • Thursday 13th – Review – Sunday Morning Coming Down (Frieda Klein No 7) by Nikki French
  • Friday -14th – Friday Favourites – My favourite book that has been adapted into a movie.

Linking To

I will be linking this to the Sunday post over at the Caffeinated book reviewer and then It’s Monday What are you Reading at The Book Date.

20 thoughts on “Weekly Update July 3rd to 9th

Add yours

  1. I love that cover of Waking Gods. I haven’t read it yet but I did read the first one. Sunday Morning Coming Down looks really interesting as well.

    Like

  2. I keep seeing Waking Gods everywhere and I still can’t understand why I haven’t bought the first part yet. Probably cause it’s so expensive? 😀 gah.
    You’re reading some really great books! It seems like your taste is so much like mine.

    Like

  3. I did skim parts of Neil Gaiman’s book.
    Daring to Drive was one I enjoyed. I can’t believe it is 2017 and women are still dealing with this stupidity.
    Don’t worry about your posting frequency. Do what makes you happy. If you have enough content for posting every day that’s fine. If you decide to skip days because you don’t get posts written up, that’s fine too.

    Like

    1. I found the circumcision part fairly distressing. Its horrifying that still goes on in Saudi and all the other ridiculous policies. I think I shall start being more vague about upcoming posts to give myself some leeway, but I have been finding inspiration for posts on at the moment I just wish it didn’t take so long.

      Like

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

