Weekly Update 24th to 30th July

Its been the first week of the kids summer holidays, and of course the first thing my daughter did, is get sick, with high fevers and all that. She got better for Wednesday and Thursday and now she is sick again, not sure why.  I also ended up working both Saturday and Sunday long days due to the weather my OH normally goes to a motor-cross track with his motorbike on Saturday but this was cancelled so I worked instead.

Books Finished This week.

I haven’t finished one book this week, no not one.  That is very poor but hey being stuck at home with a sick child kinda is the best excuse I can come up with.

Currently Reading

Due to the fact that I haven’t finished any book, these 6 are the same I was reading last week.

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme Lars Mytting – My first requested hardback ARC from Bookbridgr and its great.  Beautifully written and translated from the Norwegian with what seems to be quite a twisty plot, and it is pretty interesting.  So far it has been about rural Norway and the Shetland islands.

A Month by the Sea: Encounters in Gaza by Dervla Murphy – I haven’t picked this up much this week,  just not in the mood.

The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer – I may not finish this as I am getting a bit sick of her congratulating herself for giving money to her friends.

 

A Man of Shadows (John Nyquist, #1) by Jeff Noon – I have got a bit further into this book, but I am still not really into it.

Ewan Pendle and the White Wraith by Shaun Hume is still the bedtime story for my daughter, and we are making some progress.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë  is the audio-book that I am listening too in the car and other places.  I am loving it so far, just had Mr Rochester and the fire and not sure what is going on but can’t wait to find out.

This week on the blog

I have got 30 more followers over the past week which is wonderful, and done my first ever tag.    I was planning on continuing with my Friday Favorite thing but I wrote a post about the Booker Prize Longlist instead.

Monday – Review – Daring To Drive

Tuesday – Mid Year (a bit late) Freak Out

Thursday – Review – Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Friday – Booker Prize 2017 Longlist – My thoughts and predictions.

 

Comingupnextweek

I am just going to wing it next week as I have ended up working two long days over the weekend and therefore are not all scheduled, never mind.

Linking To

I will be linking this to the Sunday post over at the Caffeinated book reviewer and then It’s Monday What are you Reading at The Book Date.

20 thoughts on “Weekly Update 24th to 30th July

Add yours

      1. Well of course not! What self respecting blogger would xD I would still cut and paste most of it xD battling the image tags is the worst bit for me, cause I’m such a tidy freak. Every tag has to match, have all text and a link! Takes me forever 😀

        Like

  1. I hope your daughter is better! That’s what always happened to me. First week of summer holidays and I was sick every time… now same happens during the weekends…I have never read anything by Charlotte Brontë so she’s on my to-be-read list for the next week

    Like

  2. Sorry to hear about your daughter. I hope she gets better soon! I also haven’t been able to read a lot last week. This week has to be better though! I’m determined. 🙂
    Have a great week and happy reading!

    Like

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

